Judged by a rotating panel of journalists and media educators, the awards highlight the impact of investigative reporting as a reform tool within the context of state and local government waste, fraud and corruption. 

In addition to using credible and impressive investigative techniques, the winning entries will have made significant contributions to inform the public on issues of government failings and corruption and will have prompted reforms. 

Who is eligible to submit their work?

Stories can be submitted by newsrooms located in Illinois. Illinois-based freelancers are also eligible to submit their work. 

What stories are eligible for submission?

Print, digital, radio, and television reporting is accepted. Stories must have been published between January 1 – December 31, 2022. 

How many stories can I enter?

There is no limit to how many stories you may submit, and individuals/newsrooms may submit multiple entries from multiple reporters. However, each story or series of stories should be submitted separately. 

When is the entry deadline?

The deadline to enter is Friday, April 7th at 11:59 PM CDT.

What do I need to submit besides a link to my work? 

Supporting material will be accepted but is not necessary. 

When will I be notified about whether or not my story is a finalist?

Finalists will be notified via email in early May.

Is there anything else I should know?

All applications must meet standards set forth in the Society of Professional Journalists’ Code of Ethics. Entities that are principally advocacy organizations are not eligible. Entries should include all related corrections, clarifications or retractions.