May 11

The 2015 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting

Union League Club, Main Dining Room, 6th Floor

BGA 1503RDF Homebanner

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting honor excellence in the best government-related investigative reporting in the Midwest. 

These Awards recognize the importance of investigative journalism in advancing the principles of democracy.


Bill Keller is former executive editor of The New York

Times, and current editor-in-chief of The Marshall Project - a nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization covering America's criminal justice system. Keller worked for The New York Times from 1984 to 2014 as a correspondent, editor and op-ed columnist. As a correspondent, he covered the collapse of the Soviet Union, winning a Pulitzer Prize, and the end of white rule in South Africa. From July 2003 until September 2011, he was the executive editor of the The Times.






1st Place: "Harsh Treatment" by David Jackson, Gary Marx and Duaa Eldeib (Chicago Tribune, Chicago, IL)

2nd Place: "Child protection failures in Minnesota" by Brandon Stahl (Star Tribune, Minneapolis, MN)

3rd Place: "Unguarded" by Lucas Sullivan, Mike Wagner, Jill Riepenhoff, Josh Jarman, Brooke LaValley and Alan Miller (The Columbus Dispatch, Columbus, OH)


1ST PLACE - $10,000 | 2ND PLACE $5,000 | 3RD PLACE $3,000



Chris Bury
Senior Journalist in Residence
DePaul University
Luke Kolman
Executive Committee and Former Chair of Investigations
BGA Board
Barbara Rose
Former Reporter and Columnist
Chicago Tribune and Crain's Chicago Business
Former BGA Contributor
Monica Davey
Chicago Bureau Chief
The New York Times
Doug Longhini
48 Hours, CBS News
Bruce Rushton
Staff Writer
Illinois Times
Renee Ferguson
Retired Investigative Reporter
NBC-5 Chicago