In Chicago wards where no aldermanic candidate won by more than 50 percent of the vote on February 22, the top two candidates will face off in a run-off election on Tuesday, April 5, 2011. Only Chicago residents living in the following Chicago wards will vote April 5. Not sure if you live in one of these wards? Click here to find out which ward you live in.

Chicago Aldermanic Candidates — April 5, 2011 Run-Off Election

6th Ward: Freddrenna M. Lyle  / Roderick T. Sawyer

15th Ward: Toni L. Foulkes  /  Raymond A. Lopez

16th Ward: Joann Thompson  /  Hal E. Baskin

17th Ward: Latasha R. Thomas  /  David H. Moore

20th Ward: Willie B. Cochran  /  Che “Rhymefest” Smith

24th Ward: Sharon Denise Dixon  /  Michael D. Chandler

25th Ward: Daniel “Danny” Solis  /  Cuahutemoc Morfin

36th Ward: John A. Rice  /  Nicholas Sposato

38th Ward: Timothy M. Cullerton  /  Tom Caravette

41st Ward: Mary O’Connor  /  Maurita E. Gavin

43rd Ward: Michele Smith  /  Tim Egan

45th Ward: John Garrido  /  John Arena

46th Ward: Mary Anne “Molly” Phelan  /  James Cappleman

50th Ward: Bernard L. Stone  /  Debra L. Silverstein

*For a full listing of results from the Feb. 22 Municipal Elections, click here.

Am I registered to vote in Chicago?

>> Click here to find out if you are registered to vote in Chicago. Just enter your name and zip code. If you’re registered, this link will also show you your polling place.

Is it too late to register to vote in the run-off election?

>> Yes. The deadline for registering to vote in the run-off elections was Tuesday, March 8.

Where is my polling place?

>> Enter your name and zip code here to see your polling location. *If you’ve moved since the last election, make sure you check to see where your new polling place is before you attempt to vote – your vote won’t count if you vote in the wrong precinct.

What time are the polls open on Tuesday, April 5th?

>> Polling places will be open from 6 a.m. until 7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 5.

Can I vote early?

>> All registered voters can vote early from Monday, March 14 through Thursday, March 31. To vote early you must bring a government-issued ID (a driver’s license, state ID card, or passport.)

Where do I vote early?

As listed by the Board of Elections Commissioners for the City of Chicago, you can vote early in your ward at the following locations, Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.:

Ward Early Voting Locations and Hours

6th Ward: Whitney Young Library 7901 South M. L. King Jr. Drive

15th Ward: Lindblom Park 6054 S. Damen Ave.

16th Ward: Sherman Park 1301 W. 52nd St.

17th Ward: Thurgood Marshall Library 7506 S. Racine Ave.

20th Ward: Coleman Library 731 E. 63rd St.

24th Ward: Douglass Library 3353 W. 13th St.

25th Ward: Chinatown Library 2353 S. Wentworth Ave.

36th Ward: Hiawatha Park 8029 W. Forest Preserve Drive

38th Ward: Wright College – Science Bldg 4300 N. Narragansett Ave.

41st Ward: Roden Library 6083 N. Northwest Hwy.

43rd Ward: Lincoln Park Library 1150 W. Fullerton Ave.

45th Ward: Edgebrook Library 5331 W. Devon Ave.

46th Ward: Truman College 1145 W. Wilson Ave.

50th Ward: Warren Park 6601 N. Western Ave.

*If your ward has a run-off election, you can also vote early at one of the following permanent early voting sites.

Do I need an ID to vote in the run-off elections?

  • If you vote early, you will need to bring a government-issued ID.
  • If you are voting April 5 and have voted from your current address before, you do not need to bring an ID.
  • If you’re voting for the first time in a new precinct, you must bring a government-issued ID with you when you go to vote.

Who should I vote for?

>> As always, the BGA does not endorse candidates for public office and that decision is entirely up to you. To assist you in your decision, here are a few guides regarding the aldermanic candidates: