Join the Better Government Association for a night of celebration at the 2023 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting on Wednesday, May 24.


The awards highlight the impact of Illinois investigative and enterprise reporting as a reform tool within the context of state and local government waste, fraud, and corruption.

The evening will be a celebration of awardees and include a conversation between BGA President David Greising and Megan Twohey, a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter for The New York Times and a best-selling author who has focused much of her work on the treatment of women and children.

Twohey, along with investigative reporter Jodi Kantor, broke the story of decades of sexual abuse allegations against Harvey Weinstein in 2017, helping to ignite the #MeToo movement. Twohey and Kantor co-authored “Chasing the Truth” and “SHE SAID,” inspiring the 2022 film by the same name.

Awards will be announced in two categories: Large Newsroom and Small Newsroom. In addition to the prestigious awards, winners will take home $27,000 in cash prizes. View the entry guidelines and FAQ.


Large Newsroom

Newsrooms with editorial staffs of 11 or larger

1st Place – $10,000

Runner-up – $3,500

Small Newsroom

Newsrooms with editorial staffs of 10 or smaller

1st Place – $10,000

Runner-up – $3,500

Judges for the 2023 awards are Christopher Bury, senior journalist in residence at DePaul University; Brant Houston, professor and John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Chair in Investigative and Enterprise Reporting at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; Charles Whitaker, dean and professor at Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism, Media Integrated Marketing Communications; Jackie Spinner, associate professor of journalism at Columbia College Chicago; and Jesús Del Toro, director and general manager of Chicago’s La Raza newspaper and editorial director of San Francisco’s La Opinión de la Bahía.


Main Category

Small Newsroom Category

Readers’ Choice Award